Kindergarten Pesci

During a family outing to the dog park this afternoon, my five-year-old son shocked us all when he very clearly blurted out the non-acronym version of “WTF??”

pesci-k My first thought was, “Why in the world would his Kindergarten class be putting on a school play production of GoodFellas?!?” I mean, just because my son’s already the same height as Joe Pesci doesn’t mean he should possess the same vocabulary.

But then, I realized that what really IS advanced is my son’s ability to navigate the Internet beyond the Nick Jr. website. Instead of watching clips of Dora The Explorer counting snakes in the jungle, he’s been watching clips of Samuel L. Jackson cussing at snakes on a plane.

My main concern is that people are going to think I walk around the house screaming expletives at the top of my lungs, because logic generally dictates that when kids do say the darndest things, they pick it up from their parents. Well, as much as I hate to shoot holes in the brilliant theory put forth by Art Linkletter after all those years he spent in the lab, I can promise you that neither me nor my wife are interested in staging our own non-televised version of Lucky Louie.

For now, all we can do is try and redirect both his web surfing habits and dialogue choices. If he’s so intent on quoting Samuel L. Jackson, perhaps we should get him the DVD of Amos & Andrew. Of course, then we’d probably be facing child cruelty charges for forcing him to sit through that dreck, so I guess we need to come up with a better solution.

Leave a Reply

