Thanks For a Great Leap Day, Dick Pepperfield!

Up until Friday, this was quite possibly one of, if not THE, worst week of my life.  I was getting slammed at work, both figuratively and literally, and was staring down the barrel of a sudden return to the unemployment line, where I spent a miserable five months during the last half of 2007.  But thanks to nothing short of divine intervention, this disaster of a week did a complete 180 on Friday.

While work had been an absolute disaster from Monday through Thursday, I managed to bail enough water out of my sinking ship to completely resurface.  My boss was even so pleased with my effort and the progress I made that she rewarded me with an early trip home…minus the long-anticpated pink slip.

So, to capitalize on that hard-earned reward, I treated myself to a movie.  Me and a couple of buddies (Big Dave and Mexican Junior, for those in the know) went to go see the new Will Ferrell ABA comedy, Semi-Pro.  We had been anticipating this for a while, as we love both the ABA and wacky “Frat Pack” comedies.  The movie was even funnier than I expected, but not because of Ferrell, who’s really falling into a bit of a one-note rut.  The guy who really stole this movie was Andrew Daly, who portrayed the hilariously understated straight-arrow Dick Pepperfield, the play-by-play man for Ferrell’s team, the Flint Tropics.

dickpepp.jpg

I went to his IMDB page to see if I had seen him before, but just didn’t realize it, and the only role of his I remembered was a one-episode stint on NBC’s The Office as a Ben Franklin impersonator.  Apparently, he spent a couple of seasons on Fox’s Mad TV several years ago, but you honestly can’t blame me for not knowing that.

Me and Big Dave both agreed after the movie that Dick Pepperfield (that’s one of those names you always have to say in its entirety) was definitely the best thing about Semi-Pro, due to both his brilliant delivery of comedic gems and his potential for starring as the lead in The Gordon Solie Story.  If that flick ain’t in the works, it needs to be!

One Response to “Thanks For a Great Leap Day, Dick Pepperfield!”

  1. Worst movie ever…Pepperfield was ok…

Leave a Reply

